India opener Shubman Gill’s dismissal to a Cameron Green catch in the second innings of the ICC World Test Championship final at the Oval in London sparked debate on Saturday. Australia pacer Scott Boland found Gill’s outside edge, with Green leaping to his right to hold onto an inconclusive catch in the eighth over of India’s record 444-run chase. 

After multiple replays, on-field umpires Chris Gaffaney and Richard Illingworth referred the catch to third-umpire Richard Kettleborough, who adjudged the catch to be clean. However, live video was inconclusive as to whether the tall Australian avoided the grass while his left hand grazed the ground after making contact with the ball. The dismissal on the stroke of tea left India at 41 for one in 7.1 overs and sparked numerous social media debates.

“The ball went into his hand may be 6-8inches above the ground but the question I have got was did any part of the ball touch the ground just after it completed the catch. I am sure that’s what Rohit Sharma is arguing with the umpires; I am sure that’s why Shubman Gill is so disappointed,” Ricky Ponting asked on air on the ICC feed.

“It had carried, six-eight inches above the ground; no doubt about that but did it then actually roll over and touch the top of the surface?” Ponting said.

“Yeah it’s about how you see it. He did catch the ball with fingers under the ball but if any part of the ball touches the ground it can be interpreted as helping the ball to stay in the hand and usually the umpires always go not out,” Kumar Sangakkara said.

So did Ravi Shastri. “The third umpire thought the fingers were under but the question is whether it rolled over after he completed the catch.”

“When the first umpire gives you out, the third umpire has to find conclusive evidence to overturn it,” Sunil Gavaskar said on Star Sports during the tea break.


Watch Live TV in English

Watch Live TV in Hindi

By editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *