Shubman Gill was dismissed in a controversial manner on day 4 of the World Test Championship final against Australia as the replays showed that Cameron Green’s finger wasn’t under the ball when it touched the ground. As per the commentator, the third umpire didn’t zoom or freeze that angle, which resulted in them adjudging Gill out.

The crowd did not spare the Australian players after watching the replays and booed them as they walked off the field for the tea break. The crowd also chanter “cheater, cheater” to mock the players.

In these cases, the onus falls on the third umpire to make the right call as the fielders are always confident of taking a catch safely. It is to be noted that there is no umpire’s call now and the third umpire had to make an independent call. Despite that, the official made a huge gaffe.

Speaking to Star Sports, Harbhajan Singh opined that the third umpire should have taken more time before announcing his decision. Another commentator was also of the opinion that the ball had touched the grass and Gill was not out.

India lost an early wicket in the huge chase to the target of 444. Gill was batting confidently and was on 18 off as many balls before being dismissed in a controversial manner. Rohit Sharma is also batting quickly and scoring runs at will. He was joined by Cheteshwar Pujara after Gill’s early wicket.

The Indian bowlers struggled early on day 4 and managed to take four wickets. Alex Care remained unbeaten on 66 and played a key role in Australia breaching the 250-run mark. He was well-assisted by Mitchell Starc, who scored 41 off 57 balls. He added 93 runs for the seventh wicket with Carey. Australia declared after the fall of Pat Cummins’ wicket in the 85th over.

By editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *